how to build a drawing machine

Control Systems & Robotics Topics
Shenal

how to build a drawing machine

Post by Shenal » Wed Jul 13, 2011 11:53 am

[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uI5L42-Z ... re=related[/media]
I'm an A/L student and I'm trying to build a drawing machine just like the above video.But not that much advance.I'm trying to build this using old broken printers.I'm building this for an exhibition at my school in September.

I need some mechanical and electromechanical advices to build this.(specially,Micro controllers available in Sri Lanka) ;)
Neo
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: how to build a drawing machine

Post by Neo » Wed Jul 13, 2011 6:42 pm

First of all Shenal, I have to tell you that you came to the right place. ROBOT.LK will be a great resource to you. You can even ask questions in sinhala in this site. (Make sure that you introduce this to all your friends). We need more and more technology enthusiasts with us like you.

Here are some tutorials for you from this site.

(However note that almost all images of these topics are corrupted due to a server transfer and will be available within next few days as soon as net admin restore them using a manual backup. So you will have to check them in few days).

Tutorial on CNC Machines
Connecting Stepper Motors to Microcontrollers Tutorial
How to control a Stepper Motor using ULN2003 & microcontror
Connecting DC Motor to Microcontroller Tutorial - You can't connect DC motors to your project. However you will be able to use servo motors (Kind of motors with a feedback control system).

Regarding microcontroller availability... You better go for PIC 16F877A. There are lots of help around the net.
We will be with you until you make a successful completion.