Java Virus Scanner

Java programming topics
Nipuna

Java Virus Scanner

Post by Nipuna » Mon Feb 20, 2012 8:25 am

As usual I found this online :) And didn't tried but read a very little of it and it seems a little code and I can understand very little because I am still learning Java. After that I hope I will be able to read almost any Java code :)

But this code has a little problem that is, the programmer who wrote this code hasn't made any comment how is this code is working

Code: Select all

package edu.learn.upload.virus.scanner;

import java.io.IOException;
import java.util.Scanner;

public class VirusScanner {
        public static String fileScanner(String path) {
                String fileStatus = "";
                try 
                {
                        Process process = Runtime.getRuntime().exec("C:/Progra~1/ClamWin/bin/clamscan.exe " + path);
                        Scanner scanner = new Scanner(process.getInputStream());
                        while(scanner.hasNextLine()){
                                String status = scanner.nextLine();
                                if((status.lastIndexOf(":",1)) != -1){
                                        fileStatus = status.substring(status.lastIndexOf(":") + 1);
                                        System.out.println("Filename: " + status.substring(0, status.lastIndexOf(":")) + "\nStatus: " + status.substring(status.lastIndexOf(":") + 1));
                                }
                        }
                }
                catch (IOException e) {
                        e.printStackTrace();
                }

if(fileStatus.trim().toLowerCase().equals("ok")){
                        return  "OK";
                }else{
                        return fileStatus.trim().toLowerCase();
                }
        }

public static void main(String[] args) {
                System.out.println(fileScanner("C:/temp/add_state_reuse.txt"));
        }
}

Nipuna

Re: Java Virus Scanner